skip to content

Award Winners

Rabobank Leadership Awards 2017

David Crombie AM
Leadership award winner 2017

David Crombie

Australian beef industry leader David Crombie has taken out the 2017 Rabobank Leadership Award, in recognition of his extraordinary contribution to agribusiness.

Throughout his long career in agriculture, David has constantly striven to raise the bar and expand the reputation of the industry. Alongside running his own family cattle and cropping enterprise in Queensland, David has been leading and shaping the agricultural industry for many years as he has held a range of directorships including past president of the National Farmers' Federation and previous chair of Meat & Livestock Australia.

Nathan Free
Emerging leader award winner 2017

Nathan Free

Organic farmer Nathan Free has received the 2017 Rabobank Emerging Leader Award, recognising exceptional up-and-coming leadership in Australia and New Zealand's food and agribusiness industries.

Nathan runs the largest organic horticulture business in Victoria and is also establishing an organic research farm where growers and researchers can test ideas that will benefit the broader industry.

Previous Award Winners

Sir Graeme Harrison,
Leadership award winner 2016

2016 Rabobank Leadership Award Winner - Sir Graeme Harrison

Sir Graeme Harrison is the founder and chair of one of New Zealand's largest exporters, ANZCO Foods. He was awarded the 2016 Rabobank Leadership Award in recognition of his contribution to the food, beverage and agribusiness sectors.

Jan Vydra,
Emerging leader award winner 2016

2016 Emerging Leader Award Winner - Mr Jan Vydra

Entrepreneur and co-founder of one of Australia's leading herb businesses, Jan Vydra received the 2016 Rabobank Emerging Leader Award, recognising exceptional up-and-coming leadership in Australia and New Zealand's food and agribusiness industries.

Sir Henry van der Heyden,
Leadership award winner 2015

Sir Henry van der Heyden - 2015 Leadership Award Winner

New Zealand business leader and dairy industry identity Sir Henry van der Heyden has received the 2015 Rabobank Leadership Award, in recognition of his exceptional contribution to the food, beverage and agribusiness sectors.

Zachary Caudo,
Emerging leader award winner 2015

Zachary Caudo - 2015 Emerging Award Winner

Viticulturist Zachary Caudo, from South Australia’s Riverland has been award the 2015 Rabobank Emerging Leadership Award which recognises exceptional up-and-coming leadership in Australia and New Zealand’s food and agribusiness industries.

Mick Keogh,
Leadership award winner 2014

Mick Keogh - 2014 Leadership Award Winner

Australian Farm Institute (AFI) Executive Director Mick Keogh has been named the recipient of the 2014 Rabobank Leadership Award, recognised for his outstanding contribution to Australia and New Zealand’s food, beverage and agribusiness sectors.

Bryce Camm,
Emerging leader award winner 2014

Bryce Camm - 2014 Emerging Award Winner

The 2014 winner of the Rabobank Emerging leader Award was Bryce Camm, Darling Downs beef producer Bryce Camm has received the 2014 Rabobank Emerging Leadership Award, acknowledging exceptional up-and-coming leadership in Australia and New Zealand’s food and agribusiness industries.

Sir George Fistonich,
Leadership award winner 2013

Sir George Fistonich - 2013 Leadership Award Winner

The 2013 winner of the Rabobank leadership Award was Sir George Fistonich, the founder and owner of Villa Maria Estate. In a career spanning 50 years, George Fistonich has exemplified true leadership along with an extraordinary passion for the New Zealand wine industry.

Georgie Aley,
Emerging leader award winner 2013

Georgie Aley - 2013 Emerging Leadership Award Winner

The 2013 winner of the Rabobank Emerging Leader Award was Georgie Aley, managing director of the Grains & Legumes Nutrition Council. She was also a driving force of the Future Farmers Network, the only national youth agricultural organisation in Australia.

Dr Jim Peacock,
Leadership award winner 2012

Jim Peacock - 2012 Award Winner

Dr Jim Peacock AC, Australia’s former Chief Scientist and currently Fellow and Chair of CSIRO’s Office of the Chief Executive Science Team and Distinguished Professor at the University of Technology Sydney.

Barry Irvin
Leadership award winner 2011

Barry Irvin - 2011 Award Winner

Barry Irvin is executive Chairman of Bega Cheese, chairs the Sydney based charity Giant Steps and is a member of the Order of Australia (AM). His leadership of the business since he joined in 2000 has been nothing short of inspirational.

Bruce Lee,
Leadership award winner 2010

Bruce Lee - 2010 Award Winner

Dr Bruce Lee is the Director of the CSIRO Food Futures Flagship. The Food Futures Flagship is a collaboration between the CSIRO, industry and research partners.

Robert Hill Smith,
Leadership award winner 2009

Robert Hill Smith - 2009 Award Winner

Robert Hill Smith was chosen for the Rabobank Leadership Award for his achievements and commitment both to his business and to environmental and social concerns.

Nick Burton Taylor,
Leadership award winner 2008

Nick Burton Taylor - 2008 Award Winner

Nick Burton Taylor is a substantial pastoralist, a career businessman, and a highly respected Chairman and Director across a range of industries.

Max Ould,
Leadership award winner 2007

Max Ould - 2007 Award Winner

Max Ould was Managing Director of National Foods between 1996 and 2003. Over the years, he has assisted Government thinking in many food and agribusiness sectors.

John Watson,
Leadership award winner 2006

John Watson - 2006 Award Winner

John Watson has held Chairman roles at Pivot Ltd, CRC for Innovative Dairy Products and Primesafe and has been a leading figure in the dairy industry deregulation.

John McLean,
Leadership award winner 2004

John McLean - 2004 Award Winner

John McLean led the Warnambool Cheese and Butter Factory for over 30 years, transforming it from a small factory to an internationally competitive company listed on the Australian Stock Exchange.

Donald McGauchie AO,
Leadership award winner 2001

Donald McGauchie - 2001 Award Winner

Donald McGauchie has been an important leader in Australian grain industry. He was a key driver in the establishment and funding of the Grains Research and Development Corporation.

Allan McCallum,
Leadership award winner 2000

Allan McCallum - 2000 Award Winner

Allan McCallum has shown industry leadership on national agribusiness issues over the last 20 years with a number of representative roles in the agricultural sector.

Douglas Rathbone,
Leadership award winner 1999

Doug Rathbone - 1999 Award Winner

Douglas Rathbone has led Nufarm in the development and provision of solutions that help farmers maximise yield and face the global challenge of meeting increasing food demands.